Roux to debut for Ireland

South African-born lock Quinn Roux will start for Ireland against the Springboks at Ellis Park on Saturday.

The former Affies pupil will make his Test debut for his adopted nation as one of five changes made by coach Joe Schmidt.

Iain Henderson moves from lock to blindside flank to cover for the suspended CJ Stander, while Rhys Ruddock takes over from Jordi Murphy at openside. In the front row, Tadhg Furlong starts at tighthead prop ahead of Mike Ross.

The backline sees the introduction of Stuart Olding at inside centre with Robbie Henshaw on his outside. Craig Gilroy starts on the left wing, making it an all-Ulster back three alongside Andrew Trimble and fullback Jared Payne.

In a complete overhaul of the bench, Richardt Strauss, Dave Kilcoyne, Donnacha Ryan, Sean Reidy and Tiernan O'Halloran are all new additions.

Ireland – 15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Rhys Ruddock, 6  Iain Henderson, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath.
Subs: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Donnacha Ryan, 20 Sean Reidy, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Tiernan O'Halloran.

Springbok team

Photo: Brendan Moran/Getty Images

Post by