Saffas back for Force

South African duo Wilhelm Steenkamp and Sias Ebersohn have returned to the Force starting line-up for their match against the Rebels in Perth on Saturday.

Steenkamp has been named at No 5 lock in place of Hugh McMeniman, while Ebersohn replaces Zack Holmes at flyhalf.

In other changes, Angus Cottrell replaces Chris Alcock after the flanker was omitted as a precaution due to a shoulder complaint, Pek Cowan is back at loosehead prop, and Jayden Hayward has been reinstated at fullback after scoring a try off the bench in last weekend's match against the Brumbies.

Former Sharks loose forward Brynard Stander has been named on the bench after recovering from a head knock suffered during his side's opening round match against the Waratahs.

Meanwhile, the Rebels have made six changes for Saturday's match.

Max Lahiff is named for his first Rebels start alongside Pat Leafa and Paul Alo-Emile in a new-look front row, while Cadeyrn Neville replaces Luke Jones in the second row.

Former Brumby Colby Fainga'a and former Waratah Tom Kingston are also named for their first Rebels starts, after cameos off the bench in last weekend's win over the Cheetahs, while Angus Roberts replaces Bryce Hegarty at flyhalf.

Japanese international Shota Horie is named in the match-day squad for the first time this season, while back rower Lopeti Timani is also named on the bench and has a chance to make his Rebels debut.

Force – 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Junior Rasolea, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan.
Subs: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Adam Coleman, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Marcel Brache.

Rebels – 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Tom Kingston, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Angus Roberts, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Colby Fainga'a, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Max Lahiff.
Subs: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Lachlan Mitchell.

Photo: Paul Kane/Getty Images

Post by