Scotland cruise past Italy

Scotland scored six tries to claim a comprehensive 48-7 victory over Italy in Saturday's World Cup warm-up in Edinburgh.

The Scots edged the Azzurri 16-12 in Turin last weekend, courtesy of a late try by Henry Pyrgos, but coach Vern Cotter's charges were much more convincing on home soil.

A converted try and three Greig Laidlaw penalties saw Scotland lead 16-0 in the 26th minute. Italy's points came from a brilliant solo effort by Michele Campagnaro. The outside centre regathered a chip-kick over the Scottish defensive line and went in to score. Tommy Allan converted to cut the deficit to 11.

Scotland worked their way into Italy territory, but flank Francesco Minto collapsed their maul and was yellow-carded. A man down, the visitors conceded a try on the stroke of half-time. Laidlaw's conversion put his team 23-7 up at the break.

The second stanza became a blow-out, as Scotland ran in four unanswered tries. 

Left wing Tim Visser bagged a double after the break, before Sean Lamont intercepted a wild pass to cross the line against the run of play for his second of the match.

Italy became disinterested and with 10 minutes remaining were reduced to 14 men again, when prop Michele Rizzo was shown a yellow card for kicking an opponent.

Outside centre Mark Bennett then exploited Italy's defensive frailties, scoring the sixth try to complete the rout.

Scotland – Tries: Sean Lamont (2), John Barclay, Tim Visser (2), Mark Bennett. Conversions: Greig Laidlaw (2), Fin Russel. Penalties: Laidlaw (4). 
Italy – Try: Hugo Campagnaro. Conversion: Tommy Allan.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 David Denton, 7 John Barclay, 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Jonny Gray, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Subs: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Rob Harley, 20 Blair Cowan, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Matt Scott.

Italy – 15 Luke McLean, 14 Angelo Esposito, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Luca Morisi, 11 Leonardo Sarto, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Samuela Vunisa, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Alessandro Zanni, 5 Joshua Furno, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini (c), 1 Matias Aguero.
Subs: 16 Andrea Manici, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Dario Chistolini, 19 Quintin Geldenhuys, 20 Mauro Bergamasco, 21 Marcello Violi, 22 Carlo Canna, 23 Andrea Masi.

Photo: Marco Bertorello/AFP Photo

Post by