Coetzee rests WP stars

Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has overhauled his team for the match against the Sharks at Newlands.

With top spot and a home semi-final already in the bag, Coetzee has taken the opportunity to rest almost his entire first team squad for their final league match on Saturday.

Brok Harris will captain the makeshift side, which boasts four players on Currie Cup debut in the match-day squad and a further four making their first starts for the union.

Kurt Coleman will start at flyhalf for his 50th appearance for Province, while hooker Tiaan Liebenberg will make his long-awaited return from injury.

In further changes to the side, Michael van der Spuy starts at inside centre in place of the injured Jaco Taute, while Louis Schreuder replaces Nic Groom at scrumhalf.

Former WP captain Anton van Zyl makes a surprise appearance on the bench following injuries to first-choice locks Jean Kleyn and Ruan Botha.

Western Province – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 EW Viljoen, 13 Pat Howard, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Devon Williams, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Jurie van Vuuren, 3 Brok Harris (c), 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Oliver Kebble.
Subs: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Justin Ackerman, 18 Gavin Annandale, 19 Anton van Zyl, 20 Patrick O’Brien, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Chevandre van Schoor.

Photo: Luke Walker/Gallo Images