Serfontein voted Bulls’ best

Jan Serfontein was named Player of the Year at the annual Vodacom Blue Bulls Player Awards on Wednesday.

The 21-year-old centre was the big winner of the day, where he was also named the Vodacom Super Rugby Back of the Year. After what was a disappointing season for the Bulls, who missed out on the Super Rugby play-offs before losing in the semi-finals of the Currie Cup to eventual winners Western Province, the Bulls decided on a low-key event held on the Loftus B-Field.

The other big winners included Victor Matfield, who was named Super Rugby Forward of the Year and Paul Willemse, who claimed the coveted Players' Player of the Year title.

Serfontein's fellow Junior World Championship winner, Handré Pollard, took home the award for Most Improved/Promising Super Rugby Player.

List of senior winners

Currie Cup
Forward of the Year – Paul Willemse
Back of the Year – Burger Odendaal
Player of the Year – Burger Odendaal
Most Promising/Improved Player – Jesse Kriel
Coaches’ Recognition Award – Travis Ismaiel

Vodacom Super Rugby
Forward of the year – Victor Matfield
Back of the Year – Jan Serfontein
Players' Player of the Year – Paul Willemse
Most Promising/Improved Player – Handré Pollard
Coaches’ Recognition Award – John-William Meyer

Junior Player of the Year – Ruan Steenkamp
Senior Player of the Year – Jan Serfontein
Coach of the Year – Nollis Marais

Photo: Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix