Sharks knocked on before try

Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray admits Cobus Reinach's try for the Sharks should not have been awarded.

Reinach scored as the Sharks brushed the Bulls aside 31-16 on the opening day of the Vodacom Super Rugby season, after the incident had been referred to TMO Deon van Blommenstein.

Multiple replays appeared to show Sharks lock Anton Bresler knock the ball forward, and Bray disagreed with the TMO's appraisal that Bresler had not played opponent Paul Willemse in the air.

'We unfortunately got the TMO decision wrong,' said Bray. 'The Sharks forward did knock the ball forward out of the Bulls player's hands. Also, there was consideration to the fact that the Sharks player obstructed the Bulls player in the air.

'Deon has accepted that the right decision should have been a knock-on and scrum to the Bulls.'

VIDEO: Highlights of Sharks vs Bulls

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by