Kwagga starts for Lions

Kwagga Smith has replaced Steph de Witt in one of three changes to the Golden Lions' starting lineup for Saturday's Currie Cup final against Western Province.

Smith graduates to the run-on XV to partner Warren Whiteley and Jaco Kriel in the loose trio, with De Witt dropping to the bench. In the only other change to the pack, Robbie Coetzee starts at hooker ahead of Malcolm Marx, who is also relegated to the reserves.

In a rotational swap in the backline, Rohan Janse van Rensburg gets a start at outside centre in place of Stokkies Hanekom, who completes the match-day squad.

Golden Lions – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Lourens Erasmus, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Fabian Booysen, 19 Steph de Witt, 20 Jaco van der Walt, 21 Stokkies Hanekom, 22 Sampie Mastriet.

Photo: Anne Laing/HSM Images

Post by