Sonny Bill bolsters Chiefs

The Chiefs have made 11 changes to their starting XV for Saturday's match against the Crusaders in Hamilton, including four positional switches.

Coach Dave Rennie has shuffled his pack, bringing Pauliasi Manu, Ben Tameifuna, Brodie Retallick and Sam Cane into the starting lineup, moving Mike Fitzgerald to blindside flank with captain Liam Messam continuing at No 8, replacing the injured Maama Vaipulu.

All Black Augustine Pulu gets the nod at scrumhalf, Sonny Bill Williams reclaims the No 12 jersey after being declared fit to play with Charlie Ngatai moving out to 13.

James Lowe moves back to left wing due to the return from injury of Tom Marshall at fullback.

Prop Siate Tokolahi moves into the reserves and is joined by Taranaki prop Mitchell Graham, who could get his first taste of Vodacom Super Rugby. Loose forward Johan Bardoul is the only other addition to the bench.

Chiefs – 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Liam Messam (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Subs: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Siate Tokolahi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Johan Bardoul, 20 Sean Polwart, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Damian McKenzie, 23 Seta Tamanivalu.

Super Rugby teams (Round 3)

Photo: Hannah Peters/Getty Images

Post by