Boks set for Twickenham rematch in 2022

England have officially confirmed their four-Test schedule for the 2022 Autumn Nations Series, which includes a rematch against the Springboks at Twickenham in November.

England begin the series against the teams they will face in Pool D fixtures at the 2023 Rugby World Cup, hosting Argentina (6 November) followed by Japan (12 November).

They will then face New Zealand on 19 November for the first time since the 2019 Rugby World Cup semi-final, where England beat the three-times world champions 19-7.

Their final game is against world champions South Africa on Saturday 26 November. Last month, in a tightly contested game England beat the Springboks 27-26 with an 80th minute penalty.

“These fixtures will be a really important part of our preparation for the 2023 World Cup,” said Jones. “It’s almost a mini World Cup in itself and we’re fortunate to have it less than a year before the tournament.

“It will be a good litmus test for the team to see where we are at, culminating in playing first and second in the world.

“We saw how much of a difference having a full Twickenham Stadium was this autumn and we can’t wait to play a series of games against such quality opposition in front of our supporters.”

Photo: Patrick Khachfe/JMP/Shutterstock/BackpagePix 

England’s 2022 November fixtures:

  • England v Argentina – Sunday, 6 November 2022
  • England v Japan – Saturday, 12 November 2022
  • England v New Zealand – Saturday, 19 November 2022
  • England v South Africa – Saturday, 26 November 2022

Post by