Steyn at flyhalf for Sharks

Frans Steyn will start at flyhalf for the Sharks in their Super Rugby clash with the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday.

Jake White had hinted earlier this season that he would utilise the centre at No 10, but has held off in recent weeks with Tim Swiel occupying the flyhalf spot.

It seems his patience has run thin following the Sharks 34-18 reverse against the Highlanders, and Steyn has been tasked with steadying the ship.

Heimar Williams and Paul Jordaan will make up the new centre combination, while Odwa Ndungane returns on the wing.

In the forwards, Bismarck du Plessis returns to captain the team. Jean Deysel has also recovered in time to take his place in the starting XV, along with Ryan Kankowski who will start at eighthman in place of Keegan Daniel.

Meanwhile, the Rebels have made two changes, with scrumhalf Luke Burgess and loosehead prop Cruze Ah-Nau coming into the starting XV.

Rebels – 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Male Sau, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Colby Fainga'a, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Cruze Ah-Nau.
Subs: 16 Pat Leafa, 17 Max Lahiff,18 Paul Alo-Emilie, 19 Hugh Pyle, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Tom Kingston, 23 Angus Roberts.

Sharks – 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Heimar Williams, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Frans Steyn, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Keegan Daniel, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 SP Marais.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix

Post by