Steyn outplays Barrett as 2010 Bulls stride to victory

Morne Steyn and Francois Hougaard were decisive as the 2010 Bulls claimed victory over the 2016 Hurricanes in Game 14 of the Greatest Super Rugby Team tournament.

SA Rugby magazine readers dived into Game 14 of the 32-team knockout tournament, with the away side claiming victory after 88% of voters backed them to win by between six and 10 points in Wellington.

The result eliminates the 2016 Hurricanes from the tournament, while the 2010 Bulls advance to the round of 16, where they will face Zinzan Brooke’s 1996 Blues team.

A try fest featured a total of 10 scores between the sides, but it was the Bulls who came out on top thanks to a hat-trick from Francois Hougaard and Morne Steyn’s deadeye kicking at goal.

The Hurricanes gave it their all but Beauden Barrett had an off-day with the boot (to put it mildly), missing all five of his conversion attempts.

The Bulls went into the break 21-10 ahead, with Hougaard scoring twice and Gary Botha driving over from a maul while, for the Hurricanes, Dane Coles and Corey Jane dotted down.

In the second half, Ardie Savea crossed for two quickfire tries, but just as it seemed the Hurricanes were taking control of the match, Fourie du Preez sent Hougaard over for his hat-trick and Pierre Spies bulldozed across the line.

There was still time for substitute Julian Savea to grab a try in the corner, but that would serve as nothing more than a consolation for the hosts as the Bulls held out for a 35-25 victory.

2016 Hurricanes – Tries: Dane Coles, Corey Jane, Ardie Savea (2), Julian Savea.
2010 Bulls – Tries: Francois Hougaard (3), Gary Botha, Pierre Spies. Conversions: Morne Steyn (5).

2016 Hurricanes – 15 James Marshall, 14 Corey Jane, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Willis Halaholo, 11 Jason Woodward, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Loni Uhila.
Subs: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Mike Kainga, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Callum Gibbins, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Vince Aso, 23 Julian Savea.

2010 Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Derick Kuun, 20 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 21 Jaco van der Westhuizen, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Post by

Dylan Jack