Stirzaker back for Rebels

The inclusion of Nic Stirzaker is the only change to the Rebels' starting lineup for Saturday's match against the Brumbies.

Stirzaker sat out last week's defeat against the Waratahs in Melbourne through suspension, but returns ahead of Wallabies scrumhalf Luke Burgess, who drops to the bench. 

Lock Luke Jones will earn his 50th Vodacom Super Rugby cap, while former Force hooker Ben Whittaker will make his Rebels debut if he comes on as a replacement.

Rebels coach Tony McGahan says he's looking forward to the challenge of playing the Brumbies.

'They’re the most successful Australian Super Rugby franchise ever, and a formidable opponent who have impressed so far again this season. We have a lot of respect for their senior playing group and the way they get on with their business on the field', said McGahan.

Rebels – 15 Mike Harris, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Colby Fainga'a, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith.
Subs: 16 Ben Whittaker, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Sam Jeffries, 20 Scott Fuglistaller, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Sefanaia Naivalu.

Super Rugby teams (Round 3)

Photo: Melbourne Rebels

Post by