Stormers smash Boland

The Stormers scored seven tries in a convincing 45-7 win over the Boland Cavaliers at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday, writes BRENTON CHELIN.

Coached on the day by new Currie Cup coach John Dobson, a second-string Stormers side were too strong for the Cavaliers. Dobson would've been pleased with the performance, although very little can be read into it from a Vodacom Super Rugby perspective. Many of these players will be expected to turn out for Western Province in the Vodacom Cup this season.

The Stormers didn't take long to assert their dominance, though, and after a good break from Sikhumbozo Notsche, scrumhalf Godlen Masimla raced clear to score under the posts.

Masimla was involved in much of the good work done by the Stormers during the first half, with his presence around the fringes a constant menace for the Boland defence. He came off to warm applause midway through the second half.

His halfback partner, Robert du Preez, endured a difficult afternoon, missing touch from a penalty on three occasions during the first half.

Up front, Oli Kebble played 80 minutes in a strong return to action, while the Stormers generally held the upper-hand at the set pieces.

After scoring four unanswered tries in the first half to lead 26-0, the Stormers lost their way during a stilted second stanza. Boland showed some intent on attack, but errors affected their continuity, with a try through fullback Eric Zana their sole effort on the day.

Boland Cavaliers – Try: Eric Zana. Conversion: Christiaan Rust.
Stormers – Tries: Godlen Masimla (2), Michael Willemse, Kyle Lombard, EW Viljoen, Sikhumbuzo Notsche, Tshotsho Mbovane. Conversions: Robert du Preez (4). Ryno Eksteen.

Boland Cavaliers – 15 Eric Zana, 14 Duwayne Smart, 13 Wilneth Engelbrecht, 12 Edwinn Sass, 11 Senan van der Merwe, 10 Christiaan Rust, 9 Jovelian de Koker, 8 Wayne Wildschut, 7 André Cotzee, 6 Freginald Africa, 5 Gavin Annandale (c), 4 Yves Bashiya, 3 Martin Dreyer, 2 Clemen Lewis, 1 Henri Boshoff.
Subs: 16 Kelvin Fikster, 17 SP Wessels, 18 Adriaan Botha, 19 Roderrick Dalton, 20 Chadley Wenn, 21 EJ Jooste, 22 Tiaan Ramat, 23 Anzo Stubbs, 24 Jos Malherbe, 25 Leeroy Wildschut.

Stormers – 15 EW Viljoen, 14 Tshotsho Mbovane, 13 Jarryd Sage, 12 Kyle Lombard, 11 Danwel Demas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Luke van der Smit, 6 Michael Willemse, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Neil Rautenbach (c), 1 Oli Kebble.
Subs: 16 Liam Hendricks, 17 Deacon Chowlse, 18 Burger van Niekerk, 19 Johan Momsen, 20 Luke Stringer, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 SP Ferreira, 23 Ryno Eksteen, 24 Matt Turner, 25 Shuiab Samaai.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images