Strauss starts for Ireland

Hooker Richardt Strauss has been included in Ireland's starting XV as one of 12 changes to their team to face the USA in Leeds on Sunday.

Coach Joe Schmidt has rested most of his senior players and handed the captaincy to No 8 Jamie Heaslip, who along with left wing Keith Earls and outside centre Jared Payne, are the only ones to retain their spot in the team. 

Fullback Simon Zebo, right wing Tommy Bowe, inside centre Darren Cave, flyhalf Ian Madigan and scrumhalf Eoin Reddan are given a chance to link up in the backline. 

Among the forwards, Heaslip is joined by Chris Henry and Jordi Murphy in the back row, Devin Toner and Donnacha Ryan come in as the locks and props Nathan White and Cian Healy will scrum down with Strauss in the front row. 

Ireland – 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Chris Henry, 6 Jordi Murphy, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Nathan White, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs: Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Paul O'Connell, 20 Sean O'Brien, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Rob Kearney.

World Cup teams

Photo: Thomas B Shea/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams