Bulls host Stormers in first SA derby

The Bulls will play the Stormers on the opening weekend of the 2015 Super Rugby tournament.

For the second successive year, the Stormers will head to the highveld for their opening fixture, after starting the 2014 campaign with defeat against the Lions at Ellis Park.

The Sharks, the only South African side to make the play-offs in 2014, will continue their quest for an elusive Super Rugby crown against the Cheetahs at Kings Park.

Seven-times champions the Crusaders will get the competition underway on Friday when they host the Rebels in Christchurch. The Lions will once again start their challenge at Ellis Park, against the Hurricanes on Friday evening.

After a staggered start in 2014, the competition will start simultaneously in all territories, with a full set of fixtures on the opening weekend.

'The 2015 season marks the final year of Super Rugby in its current format before the competition expands into a bold new era from 2016,' said Sanzar CEO Greg Peters following the announcement. 'As we plan for the future, we also eagerly look forward to seeing how the coming season pans out following one of the most competitive years in the history of Super Rugby.'


Each team plays home and away derbies within their own conference, plus the following cross-conference matches in the 2015 Super Rugby season:

Bulls – Hurricanes (h), Force (h), Crusaders (h), Reds (h), Blues (a), Chiefs (a), Brumbies (a), Rebels (a)

Cheetahs – Blues (h), Crusaders (a), Chiefs (a), Brumbies (a), Force (a), Reds (h), Highlanders (h), Waratahs (h)

Lions – Hurricanes (h), Blues (a), Crusaders (a), Rebels (a), Reds (a), Highlanders (h), Brumbies (h), Waratahs (h)

Sharks – Chiefs (h), Force (h), Crusaders (h), Highlanders (a), Hurricanes (a), Waratahs (a), Reds (a), Rebels (h)

Stormers – Blues (h), Chiefs (h), Highlanders (a), Hurricanes (a), Waratahs (a), Force (a), Brumbies (h), Rebels (h)

Download a PDF of the 2015 draw

Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix