Super Rugby stars to join SA U20s

Four Super Rugby players are set to join the Junior Springboks' training squad on 7 May.

They are Curwin Bosch, Cobus Wiese, Madosh Tambwe and Yaw Penxe.

In addition, Blitzboks players Zain Davids and Stedman Gans were included in a 35-man squad that will assemble in Stellenbosch on Tuesday for the team’s third training camp, which concludes on 18 May.

The Junior Boks will face a Varsity Cup Dream Team on 25 April in their fourth warm-up match, while another game against a local outfit is being planned for 9 May.

The Super Rugby players have been granted special dispensation to join up with the squad towards the end of this third and final camp, while Khuta Mchunu and Ernst van Rhyn will fall in with the squad as soon as they have recovered from injuries.

'This camp will allow us to have a final look at the players with an eye on finalising our touring squad, and it will also serve as the last opportunity to get everything in place for the [World Rugby U20 Championship] tournament,' coach Chean Roux said. 'In line with this we opted to extend the camp for another week after our initial planning was to wrap it up on 12 May.

'We have had very little time to work with some of the Super Rugby players, while Zain, Stedman and Curwin, all three members of the Junior Boks squad last year, have not been with us at all up to now, so we will have an opportunity to see how they adapt to the structures.

'With a handful of players being in-and-out of the first two camps due to Super Rugby, Blitzboks and Varsity Cup duty, it is important that we take the necessary time to name the best possible squad to travel to Georgia.'

The SA U20s will conclude their preparations for the U20 Championship at their holding camp in Stellenbosch from 21-25 May.

The Junior Boks will then face France, Georgia and Argentina in the pool stage of the Championship in Georgia on 31 May, 4 June and 8 June respectively.

Junior Springboks training squd: Juarno Augustus, Kwenzo Blose, PJ Botha, David Brits, Jean-Luc Cilliers, Zain Davids, Hacjivah Dayimani, Francois de Villiers, Ruben de Villiers, Stedman Gans, Johan Grobbelaar, Wikus Groenewald, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Daniel Jooste, Rewan Kruger, Manie Libbok, Gianni Lombard, Len Massyn, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Salmaan Moerat, Reinhard Nothnagel, Embrose Papier, Manuel Rass, Carlu Sadie, Wandisile Simelane, Cornel Smit, Hendre Stassen, Gerhard Steenekamp, Muller Uys, Wayne van der Bank, Ruben van Heerden, Boan Venter, Damian Willemse, Jondre Williams, Nama Xaba.

Photo: Anne Laing/HM Images

Post by