Test rugby set to return

It’s been confirmed that a new eight-team international competition – featuring Georgia and not the Boks – will be played in November and December.

The Autumn Nations Cup will involve the Six Nations teams – England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales – as well as Fiji and Georgia.

Although reports had linked South Africa with possible participation, this has ultimately proved to be wide off the mark.

The new-look tournament will take place over four successive weekends from 13 November to 6 December, with the eight teams split into two pools of four.

Group A features England, Georgia, Ireland and Wales while Group B comprises Fiji, France, Italy and Scotland.

The tournament will kick off with Ireland hosting Wales at the Aviva Stadium on 13 November before England and Georgia go head to head, followed by a match between Italy and Scotland. France will then play Fiji on 15 November.

*For all you need to know, click here

Photo: Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

Post by