Toomua returns for decider

Matt Toomua is one of six changes for the Brumbies' do-or-die clash with the Force in Canberra on Friday.

Toomua missed the Brumbies' hammering at the hands of the Waratahs a fortnight ago, but will start in his favoured flyhalf berth for the must-win match against the Force. His inclusion sees Christian Lealiifano move to inside centre while Clyde Rathbone returns on the wing in the only other change to the backline.

Up front, Sam Carter returns at lock, while hooker Josh Mann-Rea will make his first Super Rugby start at the ripe old age of 33. Wallabies Pat McCabe and Joe Tomane have also recovered in time from their injuries and will be used as impact players from the bench.

Meanwhile the Force have made just two changes to the side that defeated the Reds last weekend. Brynard Stander gets just his second start of the season in place of the injured Hugh McMeniman, while Solomoni Rasolea slots in at outside centre.

The Force will be able to call on the likes of Alby Mathewson and Sias Ebersohn later on after they recovered from injury to take their place on the bench.

Brumbies – 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 10 Matt Toomua, 11 Clyde Rathbone, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (c), 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Leon Power, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Scott Sio.
Subs : 16 Ruaidhri Murphy, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 JP Smith, 19 Fotu Auelua, 20 Tom McVerry, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Joe Tomane, 23 Pat McCabe.

Force – 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Solomoni Rasolea, 12 Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Nathan Charles,1 Pek Cowan.
Subs: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Adam Coleman, 20 Chris Alcock, 21 Alby Mathewson, 22 Luke Burton, 23 Dillyn Leyds/Sias Ebersohn.

Photo: Quinn Rooney/Getty Images