Top 5 final-round matches

The Bulls feature in all of these memorable games involving South African sides, selected by BRENTON CHELIN.

STORMERS 10 BULLS 43 (2006)
The Bulls entered this one needing to win by 33 points or more to move above the Sharks and secure a place in the semi-finals. After racing into a 26-3 half-time lead, the Bulls took their foot off the pedal at the start of the second half and were still seven points shy of the magical mark heading into the closing stages. That was until Bryan Habana provided another magical moment, stripping Chumani Booi on the wing to latch onto a Victor Matfield grubber and claim the vital try. Morné Steyn added the extras to send the Bulls into the semi's.

SHARKS 45 CHIEFS 27 (2008)
Needing to win by 18 points or more, or claim a bonus point, the Sharks produced some champagne rugby to cut the Chiefs to shreds and secure a place in the semi's at the expense of the Stormers. They ran in seven tries – the pick of the bunch being this gem from Ryan Kankoswki – to book their spot in fine style. Unfortunately they couldn't match the performance the following week against the Waratahs, going down 28-13 in Sydney.

SHARKS 26 BULLS 27 (2009)
The permutations were simple – the Sharks had to win with a bonus point to move above the Crusaders into fourth spot. The Bulls needed a win to finish above the Chiefs and claim top spot. What we got was an all-time classic, with the Sharks notching up four tries but ultimately falling just short in their quest to overturn the Bulls. The Bulls would go on to lift their second title with a 61-17 hammering of the Chiefs in the final at Loftus.

BULLS 92 REDS 3 (2007)
Perhaps the most famous final-round victory, the Bulls trampling of the Reds stands as a reminder that no points differential is unsurpassable. Going into the match needing to win by 72 points or more to secure a home semi-final, the Bulls ran rampant at Loftus, securing the biggest winning margin in the history of the competition and grabbing 13 tries in the process. They went on to beat the Crusaders at Loftus the next week before stunning the Sharks in Durban to lift their first Super Rugby title.

BULLS 23 SHARKS 26 (2011)
The Bulls' two-year reign as Super Rugby champions came to an end at the hands of the Sharks in 2011. It was the end of an era as Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez bid farewell to the Loftus faithful having fallen just short in this winner-takes-all match. The physical encounter took a lot out of the Sharks, though, and their Super Rugby season ended a week later in Christchurch following a 36-8 loss against the Crusaders.

Photo: Gallo Images