Van Aswegen at No 10 for Kings

Gary van Aswegen will start at flyhalf in one of four changes to the EP Kings side to face the Blue Bulls in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

Van Aswegen has missed the last two games with a groin injury, but has returned to take over from the inconsistent George Whitehead in the pivot position. Elsewhere in the backline, Shane Gates returns at inside centre in place of Dwayne Jenner.

Up front, Aidon Davis has been ruled out with a knee injury, with Paul Schoeman shifting to No 8 and Devon Oosthuizen coming in on the side of the scrum. In the final change to the starting XV, Springbok prop CJ van der Linde gets his first start of the season at tighthead.

There are further changes on the bench after both Siyanda Grey and Thembelani were ruled out with a chest infection. Darron Nell will make his return along with BG Uys, while Simon Kerrod and Ntabeni Dukisa will get a rare chance to impress from the bench.

EP Kings – 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Kevin Luiters, 8 Paul Schoeman, 7 Devon Oosthuizen, 6 Shaun McDonald, 5 Steven Sykes (c), 4 David Bulbring, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Mike van Vuuren, 17 Simon Kerrod, 18 BG Uys, 19 Darron Nell, 20 Stefan Willemse, 21 Tobie Botes, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa.

Currie Cup teams (Round 6)

Photo: Michael Sheehan/Gallo Images