Wales axe Phillips

Wales have made three changes to their starting line-up to face France on Friday, with Mike Phillips the notable omission.

Rhys Webb has been named at scrumhalf in his place while Luke Charteris and Liam Williams also earn starts for the Six Nations showdown.

Charteris has recovered from the hamstring injury which ruled him out of the clash against Ireland and is the only change to the forward pack. He will partner Alun-Wyn Jones in the second row behind the experienced front row of Gethin Jenkins and Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones.

The back row remains unchanged with captain Sam Warburton featuring alongside Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau.

Scrumhalf Webb will make his first start for Wales and will line up alongside Rhys Priestland.

Jamie Roberts and George North make up the midfield, with North coming in off the wing to fill the outside centre berth vacated by the injured Scott Williams, and Liam Williams joins Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny in the back-three.

Wales – 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 George North, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (capt), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Subs: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Dan Biggar, 23 James Hook.

Photo: Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images

Post by