Wallabies wallop woeful France

Australia secured a 3-0 series whitewash over France with a comprehensive 39-13 win in Sydney on Saturday. BRENTON CHELIN reports.

The French simply could not cope with the pace and power of the Wallabies attack as the hosts ran in five tries to one in another impressive performance.

The Wallabies were 20-6 to the good at the break courtesy of tries from debutant Will Skelton and Israel Folau. They attacked with the verve and vigour that has epitomised French sides of the past, but which is sorely lacking from this current incarnation.

The game was effectively put to bed just a minute into the second half as Folau went over for his second of the game. Michael Hooper then went over under the posts as France's disciplined defence from last weekend fell to pieces.

Their attack also failed to fire in another dismal performance.

The French would manage a consolation try from a rolling maul but another Wallabies try from substitute scrumhalf Nick Phipps completed the rout.

France have been so far off the pace during this series and coach Phillippe Saint-André must be fearing for his job after this showing.

For Australia, it was their seventh consecutive win, and they are likely to enter the Rugby Championship full of confidence, although will face more threatening opposition than this ramshackle French side.

Wallabies – Tries: Will Skelton, Israel Folau (2), Michael Hooper, Nick Phipps. Conversions: Bernard Foley (4). Penalties: Foley (2).
France – Try: Guilhem Guirado. Conversion: Maxime Machenaud. Penalties: Brice Dulin, Machenaud.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nic White, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 James Slipper.
Subs: 16 Nathan Charles, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 James Horwill, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Rob Horne.

France – 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Yoann Huget, 13 Mathieu Bastareaud, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Hugo Bonneval 10 Remi Tales, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Damien Chouly, 7 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (c), 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Alexandre Flanquart, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Guilhem Guirado, 1 Alexandre Menini.
Subs: 16 Christophe Tolofua, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Nicolas Mas, 19 Bernard Le Roux, 20 Louis Picamoles, 21 Yannick Nyanga, 22 Maxime Machenaud, 23 Remi Lamerat.

Photo: Matt King/Getty Images