Waratahs stick with winning formula

Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged starting XV for the Super Rugby final against the Crusaders at Sydney's Olympic Stadium.

Cheika said his side will have to step it up another level this week if they are to lay their hands on the ultimate prize.

'We’ve got to keep pushing, holding on is not enough. We will go out there, play as we have all season and play good attacking footy and give them some trouble. The Crusaders are a powerful unit who really focus on their set piece and will be confident after taking apart a strong Sharks outfit.'

The Tahs have made one change to their bench, with Peter Betham in for Cam Crawford. It’s been 16 weeks since Betham’s last appearance, when he injured his foot against the Stormers in round eight.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Stephen Hoiles, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Jacques Potgieter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: (two to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 Pat McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 24 Matt Carraro, 25 Peter Betham.

26 Super Rugby stats and facts

Photo: Matt King/Getty Images

Post by