Western Province scrape past Valke

Western Province beat the Valke 10-8 on the second day of the U13 Craven Week at Glenwood High School in Durban.

A strong defensive effort from WP resulted in a tryless first half with a penalty from Tiaan Botes giving the Valke the lead at the break. Early in the second half, a penalty by Kirwan Stewart levelled the scores before a converted try by Benjamin van Schalkwyk gave WP the lead. The Valke, however, continued to press and were rewarded with a late try by Ulrich Wiese. They failed to convert, though, handing WP a narrow win.

In other results, Border beat the Limpopo Blue Bulls 14-12 for their second win in as many days, Boland defeated hosts KwaZulu-Natal 14-6, Eastern Province upset the Golden Lions 22-7, the Leopards breezed past the Griquas 32-14, SWD edged the Blue Bulls 19-17, the Pumas easily despatched Free State 24-12, the Griffons beat an improved Namibia 12-5, and Zimbabwe fought back from 27-0 down to beat Border Country Districts 31-27.

Western Province (10) – Try: Benjamin van Schalkwyk. Conversion: Fabrizio Linnert. Penalty: Kirwan Stewart.
Valke (8) – Try: Ulrich Wiese. Penalty: Tiaan Botes.

Border (14) – Tries: Nnamdo Owah, Tiaan Jonker. Conversions: Ryaden Masters (2).
Limpopo Blue Bulls (12) – Tries: Siphiwe Tjale, Xolan Mazibuko. Conversion: Lucian Simpson.

Boland (14) – Tries: Brian Zake, Roann Jansen. Conversions: Conray Maart (2).
KwaZulu-Natal (6) – Penalties: Dean Wolhuter (2).

Eastern Province (22) – Tries: Enrico Bantom, Michael Paddock, Siyathanda Hallom. Conversions: Paddock (2). Penalty: Paddock.
Golden Lions (7) – Try: Franki Muller. Conversion: Ian Small-Smith.

Leopards (32) – Tries: Estiaan Schonfeldt, Gideon van Wyk, Iviwe Dywili, Koketse Seane, Rossouw Karsten. Conversions: Schonfeldt (2). Penalty: Schonfeldt.
Griquas (14) – Tries: Stoney Steenkamp (2). Conversions: Adriaan Horn (2).

SWD (19) – Tries: Auburn Bezuidenhout, Marno April (2). Conversions: Hendrik Victor (2).
Blue Bulls (17) – Tries: Lohan Potgieter (2), Raynard Roets. Conversion: Marcus de Kock.

Pumas (24) – Tries: Chyle van Zyl, Devon Nel, Tiaan Pretorius (2). Conversions: Ricardo Schonfeldt (2).
Free State (12) – Tries: Tony Augus, Delville Koorts. Conversion: Augus.

Griffons (12) – Tries: Jaco Weideman (2). Conversion: Cammi Roux.
Namibia (5) – Try: David Farmer.

Zimbabwe (31) – Tries: Munashe Chaitezwi, Nataizya Chininga, Rory Plunket, Rukudzo Munyeza, Tanaka Mukanya. Conversions: Munyeza (3).
Border Country Districts (27) – Aviwe Mlabeni, Lisa Wam, Mzwanazizi Ngalo (2), Viwe Mahlanvuna. Conversion: Lutho Qinisile.

Day 1 results

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by