Province too good for Griquas

Western Province got their Currie Cup campaign back on track with a 33-15 bonus-point win against Griquas at Newlands on Saturday, writes SIMON BORCHARDT.

It wasn't a complete performance from the champions, but coach John Dobson won't mind too much as it ended a two-match losing streak.

Griquas, who led by a point with 25 minutes to go, will rue two yellow cards as WP were able to score two tries against 14 men.

It was Clinton Swart who opened the scoring with a penalty for the visitors after Kurt Coleman had missed with his first attempt.

Coleman would level the scores, though, with the visitors then being reduced to 14 men when Carel Greeff was yellow-carded for a dangerous tackle.

No sooner had the No 8 left the field than Cheslin Kolbe broke away down the left-hand touchline and found Jaco Taute, who put Nick Groom away for a converted try.

Another penalty from Coleman, and two from Swart, saw WP go into the break with a 13-9 lead.

Swart missed an attempt on the stroke of half-time, but was on target with two penalties that put Griquas 15-13 ahead after 55 minutes.

But Province hit back when Rynhardt Elstadt went over from close range, after Steven Kitshoff had come close.

Griquas then lost another man to the sin bin, this time Jaco Nepgan, and Province would score eight points in his absence, with a Coleman penalty followed by a converted Taute try.

The hosts weren't done yet, though, with Robert du Preez going over for the bonus-point try with five minutes to go.

Western Province – Tries: Nic Groom, Steven Kitshoff, Jaco Taute, Robert du Preez. Conversions: Kurt Coleman (2). Penalties: Coleman (2).
Griquas – Penalties: Clinton Swart (5).

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 JP Smith, 18 Chris van Zyl, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Godlen Masimla, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Dillyn Leyds.

Griquas – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Sandile Ngcobo, 13 Jonathan Francke, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 Carel Greeff, 7 RJ Liebenberg, 6 Hilton Lobberts, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jaco Nepgen, 3 Stephan Kotze, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 AJ Le Roux, 17  Danie Mienie, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Jonathan Adendorf, 20 Leon Karemaker, 21 Gouws Prinsloo,  22 Jacquin Jansen.

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt