• Who was SA’s best in 2013?

    The SA Rugby Player of the Year awards will be held at Gold Reef City in Joburg on Wednesday. Here are the nominees for the various categories.

    Player of the Year
    Jean de Villiers
    Bismarck du Plessis
    Eben Etzebeth
    Willie le Roux
    Duane Vermeulen

    Young Player of the Year
    Pieter-Steph du Toit
    Eben Etzebeth
    Cheslin Kolbe
    Siya Kolisi
    Jan Serfontein

    Team of the Year
    Pumas (Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup First Division)
    Sharks (Currie Cup)

    Coach of the Year
    Heyneke Meyer (Springboks)
    Jimmy Stonehouse (Pumas)
    Brendan Venter (Sharks, Currie Cup)

    SA U20 Player of the Year
    Jacques du Plessis
    Cheslin Kolbe
    Seabelo Senatla

    SA Sevens Player of the Year
    Cornal Hendricks
    Frankie Horne
    Seabelo Senatla

    Super Rugby Player of Year
    Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)
    Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs)
    Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

    Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
    Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions)
    Rosco Speckman (Pumas)
    Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV)

    Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
    Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province)
    Scarra Ntubeni (Western Province)
    Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)

    Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
    Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles)
    Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings)
    Rosco Speckman (Pumas)

    Note: Other awards that will be presented on 12 February are in the categories of Players’ Player of the Year, Try of the Year, Craven Week Player of the Year, Referee Award, Women’s Player of the Year and Community Cup Player of the Tournament.

    Post by

    Simon Borchardt