Women’s quarter-finalists confirmed

Fiji will take on Great Britain in the quarter-finals of the Women’s Sevens at the Olympic Games in Rio on Sunday.

After the last round of pool games, Fiji, USA and Spain took the three remaining quarter-final slots alongside Australia, Canada, France, Great Britain and New Zealand who raced into the last eight on day one.

Great Britain stunned Canada 22-0 to top Pool C and will now play against Pool A runners-up Fiji, who confirmed their progression with a 36-0 thumping of Colombia.

Australia needed a last-gasp conversion to come away with a 12-12 draw against the USA, despite an unassailable lead at the top of Pool A. They will now meet Pool B runners-up Spain, who beat Kenya 19-10. The USA face the daunting task of upsetting New Zealand in the quarters to keep their gold medal hopes alive.

France, who had lost 26-7 to the Kiwis, will play Canada in the quarter-finals.

In the only result in the first session on day two that had to impact on the quarters, hosts Brazil defeated Japan 26-10.

Women's quarter-finals:

Australia vs Spain
France vs Canada
Great Britain vs Fiji 
New Zealand vs USA

Pool standings

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams