WP crush EP at Craven Week

Western Province battered Eastern Province 95-0 to claim their 13th unofficial Craven Week title in Stellenbosch on Saturday.

The hosts capped off a glorious week with a ruthless display of attacking rugby to blow Eastern Province away at Paul Roos' Markötter Sports Complex.

In a surprisingly one-sided encounter, WP scored 14 unanswered tries to underline their supremacy throughout the week and confirm their status as the best U18 team in the country.

While it was the backs who put EP's defence to the sword, WP's forwards bullied the visitors at the breakdown points and set pieces, which ultimately laid the foundation for the victory. They led 43-0 at the break thanks to tries by Nico Leonard, Jondré Williams, Damian Willemse, Ruben de Villiers and a double by outside centre Manuel Ras, coupled with four conversions and a penalty by Williams.

EP's defensive woes continued in the second stanza, with Bishops centre pairing of Ras and Cornel Smit creating havoc in midfield. The hosts cantered in for eight more tries after the break, which included a 60m sprint to the line by Boishaai prop Leo Kruger. Ras then completed his hat-trick with an excellent individual effort. Playmaker Curwin Bosch almost broke his side's duck after regathering his own chip kick close to the tryline, it wasn't to be as he knocked on. Once Williams left the field, John Lourens took over the kicking duties for WP and he nailed four conversions to round off the exhibition.

In the penultimate game of the day, outside centre Imanuel Libbok top-scored with nine points as the SWD Eagles edged KwaZulu-Natal 24-19. SWD ran in four tries to KZN's three. 

Earlier in the day, Ivan Smit grabbed two self-converted tries as the Golden Lions outlasted the Griffons to record a 47-29 win.

In other results, the Leopards scored six tries to thump the Limpopo Blue Bulls 42-17; the Blue Bulls defeated Boland 40-12; Free State clinched a 62-35 win over the Pumas; Border Country Districts lost 54-39 to Griquas Country Districts, Border edged the Valke 28-15; Namibia were 29-7 victors in their international match against Zimbabwe; and Griquas hammered Eastern Province Country Districts 51-10.

Western Province (95) – Tries: Nico Leonard (2), Jondré Williams, Damian Willemse, Manuel Ras (3), Ruben de Villiers (2), Khanya Ncusane, Ryan Muller, Tyreeq February (2), Leo Kruger. Conversions: Williams (7), John Lourens (4). Penalty: Williams.
Eastern Province (0)

SWD Eagles (24) – Tries: Imanuel Libbok, Bertie De Bod, JP Duvenhage, Darryle Kameel. Conversions: Libbok (2).
KwaZulu-Natal (19) – Tries: James Tedder, Bader Pretorius (2). Conversions: Tedder, Pretorius.

Golden Lions (47) – Tries: Xander Kruger , Ivan Smit (2), Ruan Vermaak, Franco Tiedt, Michael Tambwe (2). Conversions: Kruger (4), Smit (2).
Griffons (29) – Tries: Fanie Vermaak, Stephanus Malherbe, Marco Labuschagne (2). Conversions: Luan James (2), Jason Olivier. Penalty: James.

Leopards (42) – Tries: Marthinus Vermeulen, Edmund Rheeder, Katleho Thabanchu, Lionel George, Ryno Visagie, Christopher Coetzee. Conversions: Johannes Pelser (5), André Kock.
Limpopo Blue Bulls (17) – Tries: Wernich Kachelhoffer , Jan Coertze, Chris Jenkinson. Conversions: Kachelhoffer.

Blue Bulls (40) – Tries: Wayne Van der Bank, Peter-John Steenkamp, Abner Van Reenen, Embrose Papier, Louis Van der Schyff (2). Conversions: Eddie Fouché (2). Penalties: Fouché (2).
Boland (12) – Tries: Gustav September, Frans Hugo. Conversion: Adriaan van der Bank.

Free State (62) – Tries: Daniel William Rust, Hardus Nel, Francois Agenbag, Kanya Gela, Dian Schoonees (2), Luciano Jones (2), Godfrey Simelane (2). Conversions: Niel Durow (6).
Pumas (35) – Tries: Ruben Roodt, Cyprian Nkomo, Stephan de Jager, Mfundu Ndhlovu (2). Conversions: Wessel Muller (5).

Griquas CD (54) – Tries: Adri du Plessis, Marcel Van der Westhuizen, Reinhard Hayes, Cobus Wiese, Adriaan Burger, Stefan Hanekom, Denvill Joseph. Conversions: Du Plessis (7).
Border CD (39) – Tries: Josh Armstrong , Ntando Mfengu, Ayanda Mvimbi, Migcobo Bovu, Aviwe Mancotywa (2). Conversions: Alrich Plaatjies (3). Penalty: Plaatjies.

Border (28) – Tries: David Brits, Courtney Winnaar, Cole van Tonder. Conversions: Josh Allderman (2). Penalties: Allderman (3).
Valke (15) ¬ Tries: Tinus Gruindelingh, Irvin Ali, Franklin Wagner.

Namibia (29) – Tries:  Andre van der Berg, Lebeau du Preez, Stefan Hattingh, Jay-C Olivier. Conversions:  Van der Berg (2), Cliven Loubser. Penalty: Van der Berg.
Zimbabwe (7) – Try: Brian Muntanga. Conversion: Ben Meredith.

Griquas (51) – Tries: Abram Venter, Rian Kotze, Lihan Viljoen, Janco Cloete, Johan Joubert, De-An Ackermann, Jacques Beukes (2). Conversions: Cameron Huffke (4), Venter.
Eastern Province CD (10) – Tries: Xolile Mdlokovana. Conversion: Geoffrey Dakin. Penalty: Dakin.

Day 4 wrap

Day 3 wrap

Day 2 wrap

Day 1 wrap

Photo: Petri Oeschger/Gallo Images

Post by