SA crowned series champs

The Blitzboks claimed the World Rugby Sevens Series title after arch-rivals England failed to qualify for the final of the tournament in Paris.

England went down 19-17 to Scotland in the first Cup semi-final of the Paris Sevens. With that defeat, they bowed out of the Sevens Series title race.

South Africa cannot be caught at the top of the table, regardless of what transpires in the final leg of the series in London. Not since the 2008-09 season have the Blitzboks managed to claim the overall title.

South Africa went into their semi-final clash against New Zealand knowing their status as champions. They weren't as clinical during the initial stages, and found themselves trailing 5-0.

They recovered quickly, however, to score two tries through Philip Snyman and Branco du Preez before half-time. Cecil Afrika added a third right after the break while Rosco Speckman scored a fourth on the stroke of full-time. In the end, they stormed to a 26-5 victory.

South Africa will have the opportunity to win the Paris tournament when they face Scotland in the decider.

Scotland vs South Africa (17:33)

All the Paris Sevens fixtures and results

Photo: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli