Flip back for Bulls

Flip van der Merwe will captain the Bulls when they play the Hurricanes in Napier this Saturday.

Van der Merwe has recovered from a hamstring injury and will take his place in the starting side, albeit it at No 5. He replaces Victor Matfield as the Bulls' lineout caller and captain, as it's been decided that Matfield will be rested for the duration of the tour to Australasia.

In other team changes, Jacques Engelbrecht is brought in at No 8, with Dewald Potgieter shifting to blindside flank. Jacques du Plessis drops to the bench as a result.

Bulls –  15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Flip van der Merwe (c), 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Morné Mellett, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Jacques du Plessis, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Ulrich Beyers.

Matfield rested for Bulls' tour

Super Rugby teams (Round 8)

Photo: Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix

Post by