Henshaw at 12 for Ireland

Robbie Henshaw has been named in Ireland's starting lineup as one of 11 changes for their match against Italy at the Olympic Stadium on Sunday.

Henshaw will make his World Cup debut by replacing the injured Darren Cave at inside centre. Keith Earls, who played wing against Romania, comes in at outside centre for the injured Jarred Payne, with Dave Kearney filling the vacant wing spot.  

Halfbacks Johnny Sexton and Connor Murray return to continue their partnership, with Ian Madigan and Eoin Reddan dropping to the bench.

In the pack, flanks Jordi Murphy and Chris Henry make way for Sean O'Brien and Peter O'Mahony, with Paul O'Connell back at No 5 lock and Iain Henderson at No 4.

And in a new-look front row, Mike Ross, Rory Best and Jack McGrath are elevated to the run-on XV at the expense of Nathan White, Richardt Strauss and Cian Healy.

Ireland – 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Paul O'Connell (c), 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Jack McGrath.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Nathan White, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Chris Henry, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Luke Fitzgerald.

World Cup teams

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by