Jones to lead Wales in SA

Veteran lock Alun Wyn Jones will captain Wales when they tackle the Springboks this June.

Regular captain Sam Warburton and goal-kicker Leigh Halfpenny are the notable absentees from Warren Gatland's 32-man touring squad. Warburton led the British & Irish Lions to a series win in Australia in 2013, while Halfpenny has been a match-winner for both the Lions and Wales in recent years. Both have been ruled out of the South African tour due to long-term injuries.

The good news for Wales is that centre Jonathan Davies, who missed most of the Six Nations due to injury, will be available. The inclusion of other star players such as centre Jamie Roberts, scrumhalf Mike Phillips, and winger George North will aid the Welsh cause in the two Tests against the Boks.

Wales will begin their tour to South Africa with a match against the Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth on 10 June. Thereafter, they will play the Boks in Durban on 14 June, and again in Nelspruit on 21 June.


Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)
Paul James (Bath)
Adam Jones (Ospreys)
Rhodri Jones (Scarlets)
Samson Lee (Scarlets)
Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys)
Ken Owens (Scarlets)
Matthew Rees (Cardiff Blues)
Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)
Alun Wyn Jones (c) (Ospreys)
Luke Charteris (Perpignan)
Jake Ball (Scarlets)
Ian Evans (Ospreys)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
Josh Turnbull (Scarlets)
Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro)
Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)
Dan Baker (Ospreys)

Mike Phillips (Racing Metro)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
Rhodri Williams (Scarlets)
Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
James Hook (Perpignan)
Steven Shingler (Scarlets)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets)
Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro)
Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues)
Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues)
George North (Northampton Saints)
Jordan Williams (Scarlets)
Matthew Morgan (Ospreys)
Liam Williams (Scarlets)

Photo: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli