Morgan starts for Wales

Tyler Morgan will start at outside centre in one of three changes to Wales’ starting lineup to face the Springboks in Saturday’s quarter-final at Twickenham.

With Liam Williams ruled out due to injury, George North moves from outside centre back to the wing, opening a spot for Morgan to come straight into the run-on XV.

The alternative for coach Warren Gatland was to elevate James Hook from the bench, but he has resisted that temptation.

In other starting changes, Gethin Jenkins comes in for Paul James at loosehead prop, while Dan Lydiate is back in the loose trio, with Sam Warburton moving into the No 7 jersey.

Wales – 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Subs: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Tom Francis, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 James Hook.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis