Seven more get Bok contracts

Saru confirmed on Friday that a group of 17 players had been contracted for the 2014 Springbok season.

The signing of seven players to new Springbok contracts was completed in the past week to add to the 10 players who agreed long-term contracts in 2013. Saru CEO Jurie Roux said there was scope to contract additional players if coach Heyneke Meyer wished.

The seven newly-contracted players are Marcell Coetzee (loose forward), JJ Engelbrecht (centre/wing), Francois Hougaard (scrumhalf), Pat Lambie (flyhalf/fullback), Willie le Roux (fullback/wing), Coenie Oosthuizen (prop) and Flip van der Merwe (lock).

In addition, experienced Springbok wing JP Pietersen, who is expected back in Durban from his Japanese club in the coming weeks, has already committed his future in South Africa by signing a national contract for 2015.

Those players previously contracted were: Willem Alberts (loose forward), Jean de Villiers (centre), Bismarck du Plessis (hooker), Jannie du Plessis (prop), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Siya Kolisi (loose forward), Tendai Mtawarira (prop), Frans Steyn (utility back), Adriaan Strauss (hooker) and Duane Vermeulen (No 8).

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by