Smith at 15 for Sharks

Rhyno Smith will start at fullback when the Sharks take on the Cheetahs in Durban on Saturday.

Smith replaces Odwa Ndungane in the No 15 jersey, while in the only other change to the backline, André Esterhuizen has overcome an injury and will take up his place at inside centre in place of the unavailable Paul Jordaan.

The only change among the forwards sees Coenie Oosthuizen rotate with Lourens Adriaanse at tighthead prop.

Meanwhile, there could be a debut for Junior Boks star Curwin Bosch, who has been named on the bench.

‘We let ourselves and our fans down against the Lions and we have worked incredibly hard this week to rectify our mistakes,’ Sharks director of rugby Gary Gold said. ‘We are up against a very competitive Cheetahs side that have come off a nail-biting win against the Force.

‘We have fate in our own hands now and we are very much in contention for a qualifying spot. Our players are committed to raising their game this Saturday.’

Sharks – 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Sibusiso Sithole, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Garth April, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Beast Mtawarira (c).
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Ruan Botha, 20 Tera Mtembu, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Heimar Williams, 23 Curwin Bosch.

Super Rugby teams (Round 16)

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis