Sopoaga handed debut against Boks

Steve Hansen has made seven changes to the All Blacks starting lineup for their match against the Boks in Johannesburg.

Highlanders flyhalf Lima Sopoaga and Hurricanes lock James Broadhurst will make their Test debut, with Sopoaga replacing Dan Carter and Broadhurst coming in for Luke Romano.

Other changes to the pack see Liam Messam start at blindside flank ahead of Jerome Kaino, while Dane Coles takes over from Keven Mealamu at hooker. 

Among the backs, Ben Smith replaces the injured Waisake Naholo on the right wing, Conrad Smith starts at outside centre in the absence of Sonny Bill Williams, with Ma'a Nonu shifting to inside centre. And at scrumhalf, Aaron Smith returns to the run-on team, with TJ Perenara dropping to the reserves.

On the bench, Ben Franks, Sam Whitelock, Victor Vito, Perenara, Beauden Barrett and Malakai Fekitoa complete the match-day squad at the expense of Nepo Laulala, Jeremy Thrush, Kaino, Andy Ellis, Colin Slade and Ryan Crotty.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 James Broadhursts, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ben Franks, 19 Sam Whitelock, 20 Victor Vito, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

Photo: Rob Jefferies/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams