Stormers favour Grant at 10

Peter Grant will shift back to flyhalf for the Stormers in the match against the Force at Newlands this Saturday.

Grant has played at fullback and inside centre in recent weeks, but will be preferred at flyhalf for the coming match. The game will mark his 100th appearance for the Stormers.

Grant's move to No 10 sees Kurt Coleman dropped to the bench. Damian de Allende shifts from wing to No 12, while Kobus van Wyk will take De Allende's place at No 14.

Other changes see Michael Rhodes returning to the second row, and Deon Fourie replacing the injured Scarra Ntubeni at hooker.

Schalk Burger has been named to captain the side despite the fact that he has a back injury. The Stormers coaches will give Burger until Friday to prove his fitness.

If Burger does not recover in time, Siya Kolisi will start in his place, and Duane Vermeulen will lead the team.

Meanwhile, Luke Burton will make his Super Rugby debut for the Force on Saturday. The 20-year-old inside centre re-joined the squad for their South African tour after being a part of the Australian U20 side that defeated Samoa U20 last month. Burton replaces Kyle Godwin, who has been ruled out with a knee injury, and will form a new centre pairing with Chris Tuatara-Morrison, who has been promoted to the starting line-up.

Former Stormers outside back Marcel Brache shifts from outside centre to the right wing in place of Dane Haylett-Petty, who will miss the match due to a groin injury.

Stormers – 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger (c), 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Brok Harris.
Subs: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Martin Dreyer,  19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Dylon Frylinck, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Michael van der Spuy.

Force – 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 12 Luke Burton, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan.
Subs: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Justin Turner, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Patrick Dellit.

Photo: Marty Melville/AFP Photo

Post by

Jon Cardinelli