WP crowned Grant Khomo champs

Western Province beat the Blue Bulls 26-11 at the Tshwane University of Technology on Thursday to claim a third successive U16 Grant Khomo Week title.

In a repeat of the 2013 final, Western Province tore the hosts apart with four first-half tries by Benjamin Momberg, Damian Willemse, Jade Fortune, and Khanya Ncusane, while Gianni Lombard converted three out of four attempts at goal. Although the Blue Bulls' defence managed to dry up the WP attack in the second half and narrowed the deficit with an unconverted try by Luke Fortuin sandwiched between two Ruan de Swardt penalties, they had to settle for second best.

In other results, Boland squandered a 10-point lead, losing 24-10 to Eastern Province. Namibia beat Zimbabwe 34-22, Griquas hammered Border Country Districts 41-0, KwaZulu-Natal cruised past the Griffons 34-24, the Blue Bulls XV beat the Valke 20-15, Border erased an 11-point deficit in the second half to overcome the Leopards 27-22, Free State edged the Golden Lions 27-22, South Western Districts breezed past the Pumas 31-14 and the Limpopo Blue Bulls defeated Griquas Country Districts 21-12.

Western Province (26) – Tries: Benjamin Momberg, Damian Willemse, Jade Fortune, Khanya Ncusane. Conversions: Gianni Lombard (3).
Blue Bulls (11) – Try: Luke Fortuin. Penalties: Ruan De Swardt (2).

Boland (10) – Try: Rick Jordaan. Conversion: Keenan Williams. Penalty: Keenan Williams.
Eastern Province (24) – Tries: Lance Smith, Pieter Gunter, Sibabalwe Mzanywa. Conversions: Malan Olivier (3). Penalty: Olivier.

Zimbabwe (22) – Tries: Brighton Chinyanya, Matthew McNab, Tinashe Chaza, Travis Landing. Conversion: Travis Landing.
Namibia (34) – Tries: Andre van der Berg (2), Gerweino Benade (2), Jano Rieckert. Conversions: Chad Plato, Delron Brandt (2). Penalty: Plato.

Griquas (41) – Tries: Bernard Jansen, Christopher Andrews, Gladwin Nieuwenhuizen, Van Zyl Jacobs, Willem Scholtz (3). Conversions: Jacobs (3).
Border CD (0)

KwaZulu-Natal (34) – Tries: Bongani Tonny Mahlangu (3), Durang Atembe, Lwazi Moletshe. Conversions: Dylan Kruger, Francke Botha (2). Penalty: Botha.
Griffons (24) – Tries: Cobus Erasmus, David Eyssen, Dian De Beer, Gora Gora. Conversions: Dylan Stiemmie (2).

Blue Bulls XV (20) –  Calderon Levens, Eduard Pretorius. Conversions: Tristan Janse van Vuuren (2). Penalties: Janse van Vuuren (2).
Valke (15) – Tries: Jean Van der Linde, Marthinus Holtzhausen. Conversion: Holtzhausen. Penalty: Holtzhausen.

Border (27) – Tries: Azola Gomba, Hanru Sirgel (3). Conversions: Jerome Bossr (2). Penalty: Bossr.
Leopards (22) – Tries: Adrian Jacobs (2), Rasmus Breedt. Conversions: Gerhard Fourie (2). Penalty: Fourie.

Golden Lions (22) – Tries: MJ Pelser, Tino Jones, Tyrone Green. Conversions: Mthi Simelane (2). Penalty: Simelane.
Free State (27) – Tries: Dian Schoonees (2), Gerrie Koegelenberg. Conversions: Mario Vieira (3). Penalties: Vieira (2).

Pumas (14) – Tries: Du Preez Van der Merwe, Melokuhle Nhlabathi. Conversions: Van der Merwe (2).
SWD (31)  – Tries: Lance Lamprecht, Llyle Daine Metembo, Llyle Daine Metembo, Wilko Du Preez (2). Conversions: Zinedene Booysen  (3).

Griquas CD (12) – Tries: Ashwill Botha, Heinrich Fourie. Conversion: Kylan Griqua.
Limpopo Blue Bulls (21) – Tries: Floyd Ledwaba, Tyron Thompson. Conversion: Chrizaan Strauss. Penalties: Strauss (3).

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Post by