Province crush KZN

Western Province thrashed KwaZulu-Natal 38-7 in the unofficial final of the U18 Academy Week at HTS Drostdy in Worcester on Thursday.

It was expected to be a clash of the titans, as both sides headed into the match undefeated. Instead it turned out to be a one-sided affair, with Western Province steamrolling their opponents into submission. With four unanswered tries by wing André Manuel, No 8 Michael Meyer (captain) and locks Sybrand du Toit and Calvin Nell, of which flyhalf Danrich Visagie converted two, Western Province raced to a 24-point lead at the halfway mark. After the break, they continued where they left off, this time prop Edward Marais was on hand to take the final pass for a well-worked team score. Hayden Tharratt's five-pointer, converted by the impressive Bader Pretorius, eventually put KwaZulu-Natal on the scoreboard, but when they conceded a sixth try, the result was a foregone conclusion and Western Province were crowned the unofficial champions.

Western Province have now won the 2014 U13 Craven Week, U16 Grant Khomo Week and the U18 Academy Week.

In other results, the Golden Lions beat hosts Boland 31-23, the Pumas struggled past the Griffons 26-23, Griquas CD lashed LSEN 41-27, Border crushed the Limpopo Blue Bulls 41-10, SWD easily beat Eastern Province CD 44-26, the Cheetahs demolished Namibia 57-34, the Leopards hammered Border CD 76-0, the Pumas CD beat KwaZulu-Natal CD 17-5, the Blue Bulls and Eastern Province drew 7-7, the Boland XV took down the Red Valke 23-8,  the Blue Valke downed Griquas 44-23 and the Golden Lions XV trounced the Griffons CD 53-15.

Western Province (38) – Tries: André Manuel, Michael Meyer, Sybrand du Toit, Calvin Nell, Edward Marais, Taigh Schoor. Conversions: Danrich Visagie (3), Cornell Smit.
KwaZulu-Natal (7) – Try: Hayden Tharratt. Conversion: Bader Pretorius.

Golden Lions (31) – Tries: Tiaan Schutte (2), Tapiwa Mangwana, Sibusiso Mngomezulu. Conversions: Justin Taylor (4). Penalty: Taylor.
Boland (23) – Tries: Zayne Farmer, Petrus Wiese, Jaydrin Kotze, Gevin Scheepers. Penalty: Cleo Adams.

Pumas (26) – Tries: Eric Basson, Ian Truter, Lukhanyiso Makaula, Petrus Ramolotsi. Conversions: Brandon Parr-Bailey, Wessel Muller (2).
Griffons (23) – Tries: Benji Muller, Louis Spershott (2). Conversion: Spershott. Penalties: Spershott (2).

Griquas (41) – Tries: Adriaan Burger, Anvyre de Kock, Gustav Loots (2), Mickay Beukes, Renier Fortuin. Conversions: DJ Brand (4). Penalty: Brand
LSEN (27) – Tries: Adward Dirks, Cameron Julies, Jason Wessels, Matthew Alexander. Conversions: Johannes Visser (2). Penalty: Visser.

Border (41) – Tries: Bubule Gongqa, Daniel Froneman, Geraldo Joseph, Johann Laubser, Lutho Selem. Conversions: Liam McLoughlin (5). Penalties: McLoughlin (2).        
Limpopo Blue Bulls (10) – Try: Pule Molokomme. Conversion: Hardus Geldenhuys. Penalty: Geldenhuys.

SWD (44) – Tries: Chrisjan du Toit, Cian Wagenaar, Craig Booysen, Logan Stoffels, Lohan Potgieter, Riaan Kleyn, Taswin Da Silva. Conversions: Maurice White (3). Penalty: White. 
Eastern Province CD (26) – Tries: Brendan Engelbrecht, Glen Flitoor (3). Conversions: Christiaan Nel (2), Gevanhier Blom.

Cheetahs (57) – Tries: Christiaan Schutte, Johan Steyn, Molefe Monama, Paul de Lange, Stefanus Wessels (3), Thokazani Ngodwana (2). Conversions: Schutte (4), De Lange (2).
Namibia (34) – Tries: Cameron Langenhoven, Gino Wilson, Riaan de Klerk, Schalk Grobbelaar. Conversions: Cliven Loubser (4). Penalty: Loubser (2).

Leopards  (76) – Tries: Adrian Snyman (2), Danie van Wyk, Francois Pelser, Gavin van der Berg, Jan Welgemoed (2), Johannes Pelser, Johannes Barnard, Katleho Thabanchu, Khotso Mohapi, Ofentse Magape. Conversions: Johannes Ten Cate (5), Barnard (3).
Border Country Districts (0)

Pumas CD (17) – Try: Ruan Viljoen. Penalties: Carl Jacobsy (3). Drop Goal: Carl Jacobsy.
KwaZulu-Natal CD (5) – Try: Khuthuzani Mchunu.

Blue Bulls (7) – Try: Carlo de Nysschen. Conversion: Hendrik Mulder.
Eastern Province 7 (7) – Try: Yomelela Keswa. Conversion: Frederick Mattheus.

Boland XV (23) –  Tries: Charl Hugo, Ruben Brandt. Conversions: Brandt (2). Penalty: Brandt.
Red Valke (8) – Try: Samson Zimande. Penalty: Marnus Gruber.

Blue Valke (44) – Tries: Anthony Robertson, Austin Isaacs, Gerhardt Smit, Elvis Molefe, Rudolf Heenop (2), Teboho Mofokeng. Conversions: Heenop (2), Wernich Human. Penalty: Heenop
Griquas (23) – Tries: Daniel Fourie, Ewan Marcus, Lorenzo Malgas. Conversion: Marcus. Penalties: Marcus, Gerhard Badenhorst.

Golden Lions XV (53) – Tries: Andile Ngobe, Damian Diedericks, Hendre Saayman, Keketso Maphathe (2), Rashard Fuller, Siyabonga Mahlangu (2), Tatenda Zhoya. Conversions: Fuller (4).
Griffons CD (15) – Tries: Phillip April, Thato Mojaki. Conversion: Angeloo Pienaar. Penalty: Pienaar.

Photo: Petri Oeschger/Gallo Images

Post by